Classic Thriller Novels That Will Keep You Up All Night
Thu, October 21, 2021

Classic Thriller Novels That Will Keep You Up All Night

The best thrillers are always full of unexpected twists and offer a surprise ending / Photo by: Rick Hall via Wikimedia Commons

 

Reading creepy stories is, of course, something you can during Halloween to really get the feel of the season. The cold night is great for going on a journey with the creepy characters that populate horror novels. However, there are also books that give you thrills and chills even if they don’t involve gruesome monsters or goosebump-inducing ghosts. A lot of these novels are so good that they will keep readers up all night because they couldn’t wait to find out what will happen next. 

The best thrillers are always full of unexpected twists and offer a surprise ending. So, instead of binge-watching horror movies this season, why not curl up in your favorite couch and let your imagination give life to any of these classic thriller novels. 

 

Bird Box

A lot of fans of the wildly popular Netflix movie “Bird Box” weren’t aware that it was based on the thrilling novel of the same name written by Josh Malerman. But once they realized it, they made sure that they also got their hands on the novel to see how different or similar the movie adaptation was and which is better. A review by USA Today, a multi-platform news and information media company, mentioned that with the book version of the psychological thriller, readers can expect much darker events than in the film. 

The Netflix movie made its audience wonder what will happen to the characters, while the novel delved into the scarier reason as to why the events happened. The novel also addressed the internal terror of the character, which was not portrayed effectively in the film. According to USA Today, the novel was “a tale that blends claustrophobic dread and the dark side of humanity.” 

A lot of fans of the wildly popular Netflix movie “Bird Box” weren’t aware that it was based on the thrilling novel of the same name written by Josh Malerman / Photo by: Stock Catalog via Flickr

 

The Woman in the Window

Another psychological thriller gem, “The Woman in the Window tackles the story of an agoraphobic woman, who becomes a witness to a crime. My Domaine, a shoppable online publisher of chic lifestyle inspiration and advice, shared in their website that the novel became a success after it earned the endorsement of “Gone Girl” author Gillian Flynn. 

The novel is recommended for those readers who like “Gone Girl” and “The Girl on the Train.” According to The EveryGirl, the ultimate online resource helping shape the creative, career-driven woman to experience her life better lived, the book can be finished by a day or two because of its gripping narration that will keep its readers turning page after page until reaches its conclusion. 

The Silence of the Lambs

While the movie version was a box-office and a critical success, even becoming the first and so far the only horror film to win the top five categories of the Academy Awards in 1992, the novel on which it was based dug deeper into Clarice Starling's psyche than it did in the movies. Written by Thomas Harris, the book is now considered a horror classic. It focuses more on Starling’s struggles rather than on Dr. Hannibal Lecter. It brings readers into the mind of the protagonist who has to face Lecter in her effort to understand more how a serial killer thinks and eventually bring him to justice. 

“The Silence of the Lamb” tells the strange partnership between Starling and Lecter and will give readers a glimpse of how the killer’s cannibalistic urges started and why Starling is more haunted by the man behind the bars instead of the one who is on the loose. 

 

Psycho

We are all familiar with the iconic bathroom scene from the movie “Psycho” featuring Janet Leigh. The book version of this classic film is also a must-have if you love horror and thriller novels. According to Medium, an online publishing platform, “Psycho” is the story of a mentally unstable motel owner named Norman Bates. He impersonates his dead mother and kills people while wearing the disguise. The novel is written in a third-person perspective and narrates the journey of Norman, Mary Crane, Sam Loomis, and Lila Crane. The author, Robert Bloch, was a legend to fans and critics alike when it comes to horror novels. He effectively illustrated how Norman loves his mother so much even though he has killed her, always considering what his mother might say about the things he’s about to do.

The book version of this classic film is also a must-have if you love horror and thriller novels / Photo by: Paramount Pictures via Wikimedia Commons

 

The Perfect Mother

Another novel that was made into a movie, “The Perfect Mother” tells the story of a woman in search of her newborn who got stolen right from his crib one night. The novel also shows the fear of every mother for their children, the idea of losing their precious babies from right in the comfort of their house. 

Crime By The Book, a website that provides information and reviews, mentioned in their website that the novel is the “perfect blend of breezy plotting, chilling subject matter, and addictive interpersonal drama that makes for what can be called as ‘popcorn reading,’ an utterly addictive, can’t-get-enough kind of read.”

Whatever title you choose, you can be assured that you will enjoy this Halloween season more.